Ngā pou e whā

Our Māori Strategy

Te Tiriti o Waitangi

The Treaty of Waitangi is one of the founding documents of New Zealand — signed by Māori chiefs and representatives of Queen Victoria at Waitangi in 1840. Te Tiriti is an agreement of how Māori and the Government of New Zealand will work together and the respect they will show each other.


The 3 articles of Te Tiriti are:

  • Kāwanatanga (governorship) — the right of Māori to manage their own affairs and the obligation of the Government to seek and be responsive to input from tangata whenua
  • Tino Rangatiratanga (self-determination) — recognition and acknowledgement of the status of tangata whenua and the importance of mana whenua
  • Ōritetanga (equality) — the principle of equality that gives Māori the same rights given to all New Zealand citizens.

We are committed to the Treaty of Waitangi. Our relationship with Māori is centred on building partnerships, ensuring participation, and being effective and responsive. This is an essential part of who we are and the way we operate. It is a deep and abiding commitment that we have made as individuals and as an organisation.

Find out more about our commitment to the Treaty (PDF, 5.18MB)

The one reason for our being is children

Kotahi anake te kaupapa arā , ko ngā tamarisk

The 4 cornerstones





Building partnerships with Māori that:

• encourage and empower an increased ownership in the organisation and its core business.

• strengthen the capability of Māori communities to develop whānau initiatives that meet their needs across social, cultural and economic sectors.

Our six core principles


looking after our people

Expressing love and respect towards people, engaging with their ‘mana’. Caring for a person’s wellbeing holistically – physically, mentally, and psychologically. 

Nāu te rourou, nāku te rourou, ka mā kona te iwi.
Your contribution and my contribution will be sufficient for all.



A tikanga which acknowledge the wholeness of life. Holistically, it pervades all Māori values, defining the special relationship between life and death, and the physical and the special. Wairua defines two waters of being, maintaining a balance.

Ko papa koe, ko rangi koe

The maternal, the paternal



Kinship is a key principle of whanau, hapu, and iwi. There is strength in unity, and inclusiveness in nature. We are never left to stand alone. 

Ka whanau mai, ka whāmere
You are born, you are family.



Uplifting, guiding, caring, respectful, recognising, and promoting wellness and potential.

Ko au hei kaiārahi, hei kaitiaki mōu
I will be your guide and protector



Recognising, promoting and nurturing Māori into leadership roles. Having the vision, creativity and initiative to influence change.

E tū e noho, mā te iwi koe e ue.
Whether a leader stands or sits, the people will indicate their support


Unconditional love

These are five essential elements in relationships, encompassing respect, friendship, concern and hospitality. Acknowledging the rights of and valuing all others. Aroha is lasting, seeking harmony and humility.

Aroha atu, aroha mai

Unconditional love extended and accepted

Mā pang, mā whero, ka oti te mahi

Regardless of whether we are the servant or the chief, working together we will complete the task.